Open Cup: Wrapping It Up (Big Question)

Even if I didn’t pay much attention to it, I feel compelled to mention the remaining quarterfinal in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup (LHUSOC): the Carolina Railhawks 1-0 win over the Richmond Kickers.  I know nothing more than what I read in the local papers: the Richmond Times-Dispatch and the Cary News.  (TIP: Cary = “Containment Area for Relocated Yankees”; I spent a little time in Raleigh, North Carolina and soaked up a little local lingo.)  Congrats to the Railhawks (if I still lived in NC, hell, I probably would cheer for them).

Since I’ve already noted tonight’s remaining quarterfinal somewhere down below, I’ll end here with a hypothetical leading to a question: so, say, the Seattle Sounders beat FC Dallas in their semifinal tie; and say the New England Revolution wins their next two and, thus, reaches the final; where would they play the LHUSOC final?  Given where I live (Portland, Oregon), and my attachment to New England, my interest in this should be apparent?  Do they play the final at a neutral venue?  What’s the story, here?

One Response

  1. LHUSOC matches are played at the home of the highest bidder, meaning it would likely be played at an MLS team’s home if both MLS and USL teams are involved.

    The only time in history this has happened previously, Rochester played at Colorado Rapids.

Leave a Reply

