MLS Conference Finals Picks: Don’t Think, Meat. It’ll Only Hurt the Ball Club.

Refraining from over-analyzing the second leg of the first round seemed to pay off, so, to rip another line from Bull Durham, smart players know to respect a streak…’cause they’re special and they don’t happen that often.  With that in mind, I’m going to throw my next set of picks for the Center Holds It/Who Ate All the Cupcakes Playoff Picks Duel.

New England Revolution 1-2 Chicago Fire – the Fire win it in OT.  As much as I rather they would, I can’t see New England taking it.  This just isn’t the same team from last season.  Chicago, on the other hand, is playing very solid, very composed soccer and have the “special” players to win the game…then there’s that whole “Juan Carlos Osorio, Genius!” thing rattling in my head, something that should work well against what looks like an increasingly static New England/Steve Nicol formula.  The Revs will go down fighting, but they’ll go down.

Houston Dynamo 2-0 Kansas City Wizards – I just can’t see this going any other way, even if I don’t necessarily mean the score.

That’s it for me.  And, again, I invite Team Cupcakes and my colleagues to place their picks in the comments below.

2 Responses

  1. […] be available” for the game, something that have me shouting “hallelujahs” about picking Chicago to win if I didn’t have doubts about Mapp’s ability to seriously contribute after such […]

  2. Even though I should be a punk since I still have an outside chance to tie this shindig, I’ve gotta pick Chicago 1-0 over New England.

    I haven’t decided on the other game yet…

Leave a Reply

