My MLS Cup Pick….Drumroll, Por Favor

Well, it’s time.  Time to make this, my final prediction of the 2007 Major League Soccer (MLS) season.  The standings for the Center Holds It/Who Ate All the Cupcakes Playoff Picks Duel appear over on the sidebar of the Cupcakes site and, incredibly, I’m actually in the lead.  El Guero is close enough to force a tie, provided he nails the result and score and I flub both – something certainly within the realm of possibility.

And, before going further, I’d like to thank Team Cupcakes for a well-fought contest.   Now…my pick…

I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that the two dudes subbing in for Allen Hopkins has me second-guessing myself; that both guys seem to lean toward a win for my team – the New England Revolution – only further muddies my thinking.  And, as confessed in my first preview post, the object of this week’s blogging efforts boiled down to convincing myself of the possibility of a Revolution victory.

Against that, however, is a prickling kind of fear about picking the Revs to win.  I mean, what if they lose?  I’ll find myself both disappointed and wrong, and I’m not clear on how I’ll handle that…I hate it when the kids see me cry…

And so the fundamental question is, do I stick with what has worked in terms of picks – e.g. the multiple choice test approach, where you stick with the first answer that comes to you?

Answer: Shit…do I have to?  All right, all right.

You know what?  Screw it.  New England 1-0 Houston Dynamo.  I’m big enough to handle a double-dose of pain…and there’s a fifth of whiskey handy in case I’m not.

All right.  I’ve got a Daily Sweeper coming in a couple hours.  If you’re wanting more, do check out Blue Blooded Journo’s dialogue with Martek and CeltTexan, to die-hard Dynamo fans who Jimmy Chowda invited to his site to discuss Sunday’s big game.  It’s educational and who doesn’t love that?

3 Responses

  1. Soccer predictions are tough because they are based more towards the predicted tone. I’m just glad you didn’t say “2-1”. I consider that the most gutless pick because it complements the winner and the loser at the same time. Anything other than a one goal spread is considered slandering one of the teams.

    Just wait for my pick. It’s a doozy.

  2. Dudes, OK, one more post before the weekend sign-off. I am going 1-0 Dynamo. (Who else?)

    Jimmy, you are right on about the gutless 2-1 thing. Hence my pick, which is more a picking of the spread than anything else. I’ll even pick the goal-scorer. It will be, duh-da, Eddie Robinson on a corner.

  3. Brassy pick…at least where the goal-scorer in concerned.

Leave a Reply

