MLS: An All-Latin* Trade Orgy!!

(* Assuming I botched the usage, could someone hep me to the proper term for all persons of Mexican/Mexican-American/Central American descent?)

Holy pre-SuperDraft trading, Batman! Between the one player who we all thought would go (Carlos Ruiz to LA) and two that came out of left field – Nick Garcia to San Jose for the #1 pick and, this second one is in the works, Jose Burciaga Jr. to the Colorado Rapids for an “undisclosed pick” (see down at the bottom). Well, those last two came out of left field for me, anyway.

So, I’ll kick this around below in the order I find them significant.

– I never thought I’d say this, but the hottest news comes out of Kansas City – and the Garcia deal strikes me as the big one. Mike H from My Soccer Blog saved my “WTF?” blushes by coming up with a plausible theory for KC moving Garcia: e.g. with Eddie Johnson looking good as gone (fantastic picture, by the way), they so coveted the #1 spot and, in all probability, incoming forward Patrick Nyarko. Still, a bold and spicy move. And, damn, is San Jose going to be tough to score on…and, quite possibly, tougher to watch. (psst…keep dealin’ guys; this can’t be all there is, a question The San Jose Offside answers in a big way (or speculates thereon recklessly). Big picture, though, Garcia has been such a big part of KC for so long, this does so much to both KC’s and San Jose’s respective set-ups.

– So…Carlos Ruiz is back in LA. In all honesty, I’ve been sitting on this post since this morning waiting for the reactions to roll in. Why? Because I know what I think: Ruiz will either exceed the brightest expectations or collapse into one of his deep and useless sulks. As someone pointed out on the Riot Squad’s message board (hat-tip for the link to Nick Green), there is no middle ground with Ruiz. Happily, Laurie from The LA Galaxy Offside provided the reaction I wanted – and, more happily still, her post prompted a lively debate among Galaxians (see the comments; I’m sure she’s sick at the sight of them); and, since I saw it, I may as well mention that The Other Football threw out a similar reaction to Laurie’s…and one that, conveniently, turns the conversation in a fresh-ish direction. What about Kenny Cooper’s reported/possible discontent? Was Ruiz the problem? Does the move make space to pay Cooper more? Make him the go-to forward? Who pairs with Cooper after Ruiz? Will this even register for either team when we get to the games.

– Finally, that Burciaga Jr. swap. The only question I have is which “undisclosed draft pick” Colorado gave up to get him. Looking over a recent edition of the SuperDraft’s order (though not recent enough to register the Garcia/San Jose trade) the Rapids have picks #5, #36, #47, and #49. Seeing as the Soccer by Ives post talking about the trade mentions only the draft pick – that’s as opposed to the pick plus money, etc. – you have to think it’s the #5 pick. Otherwise, you have to seriously question KC’s savvy…right?

3 Responses

  1. Glad to be of service. I’m glad somebody can take joy from my pain.

  2. Never joy. It was just more what I expected from more people.

  3. […] it sounds.Revs Shopp Noonan; Irk Twellman?MLS Combine: What I Know; What Other (Smarter) People KnowMLS: An All-Latin* Trade Orgy!! Soccertv.com…the horror…the horror…MLS Rumors Watch: Fun While It Lasted and, Hey, Ends on an […]

Leave a Reply

