Player Movements: The Sun Shines in Columbus, Hides from Colorado (+ 1 More)

In spite of the fact that the entire country seems under the thumb of a brutal winter, the Columbus Dispatch’s blog caught a sunbreak over Columbus: Guillermo Barros Schelotto reported for duty as scheduled (whoops; I overread this.  UPDATE: Schelotto is scheduled to show tomorrow; he’s only in Columbus today.  Thanks, again, to Covering the Crew, Shawn Mitchell’s blog for the Dispatch, for providing that detail, plus many, many, many more.  That blog is yours (and my) one-stop Crew news source.)

Now, if they can only bag Polish forward Maciej Zurawski – and he plays half as well as advertised (I’ve never seen him; no opinion) – the Crew may yet play a little offense this year. It sounds like negotiations are progressing, though one has to worry about this phrase: “MLS and Celtic were not close to an agreement on a transfer fee.” Yes. That does complicate things…

Still, if and when that gets wrapped up, Crew fans can worry about the defense…what with Marcos Gonazlez gone to Chile…though my trolling of the BigSoccer boards unearthed some deep unease about the Crew’s off-season progress (I think things turn ugly right around here, if not before).

Turning for a second to my “other” 2008 team, the question of whether Christian “Surplus” Gomez comes over from DC United looks like the only game in town. Here’s the latest as BigSoccer people know it (it’s one of those discussions absent news – e.g. the mechanics of the deal, e.g. the stuff about which I know so much less than jack and, somehow, care even less – don’t say I didn’t warn you).

– Just one other item of as-yet covered trade dish: Remember that Raphael Wicky (Wicky-Wicky-Woo…sorry) cat? The one Chivas USA sniffed around a little last year (if memory serves)? MLS Rumors says they’re at it again.

Between my total ignorance of both Wicky and Zurawski, it could be time for me to broaden my soccer-viewing horizons…at least during the off-season.

2 Responses

  1. Hmmm. Looks more and more like there will be a JEFF FACTOR due to your support. A poll might be fun here: What kind of impact in terms of games won or lost ( + or – ) do you think will result from Jeff Bull’s support? I’m not sure if I’ve got the language right- “following” might not be synonymous with “support”- but I’m putting my reputation as a nobody on the line right here by saying the Crew will win @ least five more games this year due to the JEFF FACTOR.

    So far regarding the Dynamo, the MARTEK FACTOR is 0 for 2- no Thierry Henry (inescapable belly laugh) and no Burpo. But as Martek often tells us, he’s got two MLS Championship Trophies on the mantle- ominous signs of a MARTEK FACTOR. It’s going to be put to the test this season…

  2. If only I could do such things….let’s just say RSL would be doing a lot better. What can I say? I’m a whore for variety.

Leave a Reply

