Random, Personal Gripe

So, today, I made my latest attempt to set a VCR.  The plan was to record Jamaica v. Costa Rica.  The plan has fallen through.

Of my past, oh, six attempts to program the VCR to record, five have failed.  I have left the cable box on the wrong channel.  I have forgotten to turn off the VCR.   I have set the wrong time – as happened today.  I have just flat-out forgotten to do anything at all.

When I was younger, I used to get such a kick out of watching high school teachers and, especially, college professors struggle to make their VCR work.  I have laughed with my friends about how, having mastered a tape recorder, these people should have no trouble with the VCR.  Oh, how we laughed.

Today, I am that teacher.  I am that college professor.  I am a freakin’ moron.  Or, just possibly, has it always been nothing more than a function of age?

And, yeah, I know the punchline to all this is, what the fuck am I doing still using a VCR?  And this one eats tapes like Kobayashi eats frickin’ hot dogs.

So, no Jamaica/Costa Rica game to view or pick apart.  On the upside, this should leave plenty of time to positively dissect U.S. v. Mexico.

9 Responses

  1. New device, I wonder if it will ever catch on.

  2. Emmett beat me to it. I was about to say “T-I-V-O.”

    Three cheers for “Redundancy!”

    Although, in the defense of Luddite professorial types the world ’round, nothing says “you’re going to have technical difficulties” like attempting to set up an A-V demonstration. Never fails to fail.

  3. Tivo, tivo, tivo…nope. Nothing.

    Oh, wait a minute. I get it. You and Emmett are pulling my leg. Oh, you!

    Next thing, you’ll be telling me about flying cars and face transplants. Crazy jokers…

  4. The game is on live right now Jeff (now being 6-8 EST)

  5. Yeah, I know. But I’m sitting in the ol’ office right now (shhh…). Still, thanks.

    The issue was, when I set the VCR timer before leaving for work, I entered a 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. time-slot. Consarnit!!

  6. Seriously, the Jamaican announcer doing this game makes it worth while. My Jamaican roommate agrees, while proudly wearing his ‘Reggae Boyz’ t-shirt.

  7. Wow…the comments are coming in weird…Ryan’s latest came out on top (the last time this happened, I wound up with like 30 email alerts…dang).

    Anyway, turning to the substance of his comment, you’ll have to tell me how the game pans out. Knowing I’m missing the Jamaican announcer only deepens my pain. And tell your roommate I wish him and his team luck.

  8. I think for some reason the site now adjusts for EST and not for the standard time.

  9. Good christ I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many people stretchered off in one half before. It looks like a hockey game out there.

Leave a Reply

