Labor Intensive Life After Soccertv.com + Once More Into the Breach?

As a lot of people seem to be finding out, soccertv.com went “ad” again yesterday (e.g. it looks like poop and tells the reader nothing, but where to buy stuff). That led quite a few people back to a couple old items I posted on soccertv.com’s future. Trouble is, neither post offered much information. The first was just me seizing up mentally at losing of the most reliable, one-stop listing of soccer broadcasts. The second pointed to a possible successorlivesoccer.tv – (and I was behind the curve on that; The Fullback Files beat me), but that site is 1) hard to navigate and 2) it doesn’t always seem current.

Loathe to give eager people so little information, I’m going to post the only ad hoc solution that occurs to me in the wake of soccertv.com’s apparent, hopefully temporary, demise. Fox Soccer Channel provides printable schedules on this page. Elsewhere, ESPN has a separate TV listings section that you navigate by clicking the relevant day. It requires a little more foreknowledge from the reader, but it is what it is. Bottom line, go to the multiple sources and hope they provide – and that it’s something coherent, easily navigable, etc.

Speaking of ESPN’s thing, it was the failure of livesoccer.tv to recognize the existence of ESPN Classic that compelled a deeper search of ESPN’s site. As we all know by now (and we do, right?), next week’s Pan-Pacific Challenge will air on ESPN Classic. Thanks be unto God, I get that channel. There’s something else I learned: the Pan-Pacific Challenge airs at the butt-crack of dawn Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)…assuming I’m reading the schedule correctly. So…what’s that mean for Pacific Standard Time (PST), my time-zone of choice? According to this time-zone converter, we’re eight hours behind GMT. That moves the 4:00 a.m. kick-off for LA Galaxy v. Gamba Osaka to…8:00 p.m. Wednesday night? Is that right? Is PST just two hours ahead of Hawaiian time (you’ll see from the “Pan-Pacific Challenge” link that LA v. Gamba kicks off at 6:00 p.m. local time).

Well, assuming I have this right, I won’t need to set the VCR. Thank god for that, in light of my recent struggles with outdated technology. But, if I’m wrong, and I do have to operate my tape-eating VCR once more, I’m not afraid. I’m a big boy. And I can do it.

8 Responses

  1. Jeff:
    Dynamo and Sydney play at 8:30 p.m. Feb. 20 in Honolulu, but that’ll be 12:30 a.m. Feb. 21 here in Orangeville, and 8:30 p.m. Feb. 20 for you left coasters. The Gals face Gamba Osaka from the J League at 6 p.m. Hawaii time and 10 p.m. here, 8 p.m. where you are. Times are the same for Feb. 23/24. Losers face off in the early game, while winners play for the tourney title after that. Hope that clears things up.

    As for TV listings, I always just rely on the relevant Web sites. I also get GolTV and their schedule page is at http://www.goltv.tv/en_index.php. Too bad it doesn’t say which game Ray Hudson calls though!

  2. Thanks for the expanded details….but don’t you miss soccertv.com…so useful…so mourned…

  3. It’s getting so I can’t afford to watch- as the specialized soccer channels are often only available in packages where I have to pay for a gazillion other channels- I’m hoping for the ala carte days where iIcan subscribe to channels of my choice but not pay for individual matches. The only thing good about my cable is its ability to auto record programs though I sometimes wonder if my wife truly unintentionally makes mistakes when I call her frantically from work. to record this or that. My other problem with recording is the ESPN Network which will juggle scheduling @ times- or extend the previous bowling tourney programming into my games.

  4. Don’t I know from those “mistakes,” playtherapy. The new frontier is something else again. I don’t know that the multiplicity of soccer channels would survive an a la carte set up, not all of them anyway; bundling lesser-loved channels into packages is something cable companies do on the belief it’s the only way they can afford all of them. That said, I think the demand is there to retain at least one all-soccer channel in an a la carte world. And I’d prefer that as well.

  5. […] Teams 1-10Adu & AbsurditySon of soccertv.com?Off-Season Progress Report: Mime’s A-Wastin’Labor Intensive Life After Soccertv.com + Once More Into the Breach?In “Investment Mode”: A Primer Made Possible by Way of New EnglandIs Iker Casillas the Best Keeper […]

  6. merci bien mon ami

  7. Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

Leave a Reply

