One Last Plug for the Pan-Pacific

I finally made my way over to MLSnet.com’s official propaganda page for the Pan-Pacific Tournament (kicks off tonight; check ESPN’s listings for times and channel…it’s in there…and all times are, helpfully, GMT). Can’t say I regretted avoiding it until now: even the news/headline section overflows with the usual airy features and quote-filled pap about how seriously all involved will take proceedings. This, for instance, is not a preview, but a series of throw-away quotes held together by a bit of context.

Tragically, the mainstream media isn’t doing much better. I have seen about two dozen variations on this story since Monday; only subtle differences in the completeness of the quotes and changes to word order separate this one from all the rest. But, here and there, one comes across actual news – e.g. the fact all games will be played on turf (to Ruud Gullit’s clear chagrin…he’ll get his back by playing rookies) and allusions to future expansion of the tournament should it prove a hot ticket. And, in defense of the general shortcomings, word that Landon Donovan will miss tonight’s semi first came my way through the official site.

As they sometimes do, blogs led the way on the Pan-Pacific Challenge. For instance, I liked Dan Loney’s pre-tourney musings almost as much as the one I posted yesterday (tee hee hee). But I owe most my current knowledge of how LA looks going in to 100 Percent Soccer, who identified the 27 players the Galaxy flew to Hawaii, as well as posting a situation review from training camp (for the curious, it’s about what one would expect: the attack looks all right, while the defense looks a little green). Can’t say how they’ll stack up against Japan’s Gamba Osaka, but the latter has issues of its own in the form of key players missing through injury and (if memory serves) national-team commitments (sorry to stiff you on links). Will it be a good game? Hope so. Failing that, though, I’ll take funny.

Credit Nutmegged for doing something clever for “the other game” – e.g. the late tilt of the Houston Dynamo v. Sydney FC. Nutmegged’s Martek compared notes with an Australian fella who runs a site called The Football Tragic, each telling the other what to look for from the oppostion. Enjoy The Football Tragic’s take on Sydney here and Nutmegged’s evaluation of their home-team Dynamo here.

As for me, I’ll try to do some jottings on the games between tonight and tomorrow. Expect the usual rambling, if not a little more of it, as I’m trying to get away from anything that resembles a typical match report. This being pre-season – for at least three of the teams – there’s not a lot to read into this anyway.

BONUS
Here’s where I’m going to get myself into trouble – and I hate to drag down Milan Kundera and The Unbearable Lightness of Being with me. As I’ve noted in the past, I’m not affiliated with any supporters ‘group. They’re just not my cup of tea. And while I’m emphatically not saying, implying, averring etc. that supporters’ groups – particularly those in the U.S.are proto-fascist organizations, I’m just creeped out by pretty much any situation that opens up the potential for mob behavior. But the confluence between what’s happening in the book and how I experience the whole supporters’, um, “phenomenon” (see the first paragraph) is what made the connection in my mind between the darker realities discussed in the passage below and the essential fun and harmlessness of supporters’ groups (though, a quick look abroad demonstrates these groups are not always harmless):

“A year or two after emigrating, [Sabina] happened to be in Paris on the anniversary of the Russian invasion of [Czechoslavakia]. A protest march had been scheduled, and she felt driven to take part. Fists raised high, the young Frenchmen shouted out slogans condemning Soviet imperialism. She liked the slogans, but to her surprise she found herself unable to shout along with them. She lasted no more than a few minutes in the parade.
“When she told her French friends about it, they were amazed. ‘You mean you don’t want to fight the occupation of your country?’ She would have liked to tell them that behind Communism, Fascism, behind all occupations and invasions lurks a more basic, pervasive evil and that the image of that evil was a parade of people marching with raised fists and shouting identical slogans in unison.”

I don’t think I’ve ever denied being neurotic, but, yeah.  Silly as it seems, I thought of the only mass behavior with which I come into regular contact – e.g. supporters’ groups – when I read that.

3 Responses

  1. […] Jeff at Center Holds it gives us more info on that Pan-Pacific Tournament […]

  2. In a rare moment of non-cynicism, I’ll present the “Bonus Material” counterpoint–linked arms and “We Shall Overcome”. The exception rather than the rule probably, but a diamond in a turd is still a diamond.

  3. Well said and worth remembering.

Leave a Reply

