One Main, Late Thought on LA Gals v. Hong Kong Union

Yeah, I actually watched this game in the wee hours of Saturday night.  I know this is almost absurdly late to post on any game, never mind a warm-up, and many of you have already read good write-ups on the game – for instance, Soccer America’s entirely deserved praise of David Beckham’s play or the LA Offside’s notes on promising contributions from Ely Allen and Sean Franklin (I second jen’s thoughts on Franklin, especially, though Allen’s not bad).

Given my tardiness, both comparative and real, I’ll only say I enjoyed the game enough, though LA’s difficulty with making more of their edge over Hong Kong surprised me more than a little; with a defense balanced between green (rookies/youngsters) and gray (geezers), they need that offense to fire cleanly and often.

Generalities aside, one thought stuck with me since Saturday: after being fairly impressed with Alvaro Pires play, particularly against Sydney FC, his limitations stuck out like a sore thumb wrapped in ten feet of gauze on Saturday.  He runs at players well enough and he can play a decent short pass, but after that…it’s pretty bad.  He put several hundred pounds too much weight on lofted passes, through-balls, etc.  In other words, anything other than a short, possession pass and Alvaro brought too little for a pro.  The only upside I see in him over Kyle Martino?  He’s healthy.  That’s it.  I’d pass on him and, so far, LA has.  We’ll see what they do down the road.

2 Responses

  1. The only thing I’d disagree with is fact-based. The Galaxy roster hasn’t been updated in weeks. From what I’ve read/heard elsewhere, at the very least we have signed Alvaro, Charles Alamo (the injured keeper), Brandon McDonald and…uh…Michael Gavin, I think. Still waiting word on guys like Josh Wicks and Bryan Jordan. (I can’t imagine them not signing Wicks, though.)

  2. Thanks for the tip. I find the omissions on the roster just flat-out weird. Then again, it kind of proves a rule I’m increasingly buying into: MLSnet.com, the last place to look for news about MLS.

Leave a Reply

